Poets logo

Held In My Heart Steadfast

Summer memories — a poem

By Paul DouglasPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
11
Held In My Heart Steadfast
Photo by Artur Łuczka on Unsplash

Apple blossoms falling onto the surface

Of the bubbling clear waters

Of the river at the bottom of our garden

Carrying pink petals downstream

***

Mayfly fluttering around

Minnows shining silver in the flow

Sun bright up above

As I sit in the shadow

***

Of the canopy of leaves overhead

With knobbly bark at my back

Drinking lemonade from an ice-cold jug

Sighing with summer happiness

***

My dog chases my thrown ball

Ears thrown back as he winds his way

With joyous barks and tongue lolling

Through my mother’s prized Peonies

***

Hair a lighter shade of blonde

Freckles on my face abound

Arms from the bottom of Tee-Shirt sleeves

Now as red as my hound

***

A boys laughter at his dogs’ mischief

From those happy days of childhood past

Echo merrily down the years

Held in my heart steadfast

nature poetry
11

About the Creator

Paul Douglas

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.