Poets logo

Syllables of Love and Sadness

Putting Pen to Paper

By Paul DouglasPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
22
Syllables of Love and Sadness
Photo by John Jennings on Unsplash

Sweet syllables of love

Slip easily from my pen

And Loves twin, heartbreak

I write of, now and then

***

I love to write of rainbows

Moonbeams and sunshine

When I put pen to paper

My inspiration’s so inclined

***

Children’s laughter, youthful dreams

Happy memories from my past

Embracing my beautiful wife

Whose love will forever last

***

I love to think happy thoughts

And bring them to the fore

To present them to new friends

And old friends I adore

***

As with all lives though

There is good as well as bad

I have experienced much pain

To think of which makes me sad

***

These thoughts come to haunt me

In the middle of the night

And sometimes catch me unawares

Amid darkest night

***

But I am not yet brave enough

To share these thoughts with friends

As I here read of their pain, so bravely

Bared upon the page

***

For now, I’ll write of my happiness

My good times in the light

And I’ll keep those saddest thoughts

Under darkest night

surreal poetry
22

About the Creator

Paul Douglas

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.