Poets logo

Heartless Bastard

The unexpected mistress

By Kathryn KingsleyPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

Your flippant moving on came as no surprise to me

No longer do I think you'll mourn the end of our possibility

I hadn't expected you to cry or even feign remorse

Our love was meant to be, was a lie I told myself, of course

A raspy voice, almost unrecognizable, answered the call

A click was quickly received like the abrupt end to it all

I blurted out a short-tempered insult made to fight back the tears

I guess we won't be dancing in the kitchen in the next forty years

As shocked as I was at the timing, just moments before in his arms

It wasn't merely another woman this time but also the needle's charms

I have to admit I'd seen it coming from the minute I vowed forever

He will eternally chase his real true love, an inevitably fatal endeavor

All along I knew that he may stray but his heart was forever mine

Tears streaked mascara down my cheeks but I swore "Really, I'm fine"

I had no real competition in these pathetic excuses for friends

I couldn't understand why I wasn't enough and felt the pain that question lends

It really took an unlikely hero, someone whom I'd felt had broken me before

He told me I may be generous but that asshole had no right to call me a whore

He spoke to me sternly, my lip quivering, eyes welling tears of shame

"You're better than this trashy life, don't be a victim to the dope game"

In that moment I stood, unsteady, but with the help of my unlikely safety net

This time I truly hated my ex, the monster, but sorely missed the man I had met

I had real happiness again, not from a partner but from my own inner well-being

Instead of embracing my sugar-coated fantasy I accepted the truth I was seeing

Each time I think I need the home I found deep within his heart

Or when I'm feeling the bitter sting of learning to be alone, apart

I'll remember his brutality as his hands clenched around my frail neck

And the look in his eyes that held only evil, he had victory, I was a wreck

He had a devilish grin as he said he wasn't done breaking me yet

He was right; though I thought I had been broken he will be the one to feel regret

He will know that I was the one that would have transformed his wicked soul

But its hard to see the beauty in my love with a heart as black as coal

As he sits and wonders how his life got to be as pitiful as it was

I hope he feels that emptiness was worth the temporary buzz

And as he sticks yet another dull, dirty needle in his vein

I pray that the next one will be the one that forever ends his pain

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Kathryn Kingsley

I am an alien; I'm sure of it. I'm an enigma, a perfect mess of controlled chaos. I am beauty wrapped in madness. Keep reading for a wild ride inside my fractured mind.

Please share, subscribe, tip and/or pledge to support my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.