Poets logo

Daddy’s Girl

A daughter’s heart breaks at her father’s absence

By Kathryn KingsleyPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Daddy, why’d ya do it?

You stuck that needle in your arm.

You made a choice to have a good time,

Never meaning any harm.

Daddy why’d ya do it?

You left me wondering why.

Mommy was a good girl wasn’t she?

Why did you leave us alone to cry?

Daddy why’d ya do it?

You missed my birthday party.

We never ate cake and ice cream.

I waited, thinking you were only tardy.

Daddy why’d ya do it?

I came to visit but you’re never here.

I’m always stuck with my evil step-mother

I guess I’ll just see you next year.

Daddy why’d ya do it?

I had one good memory, now it’s gone.

You & your Martin guitar sang me to sleep

But now it collects dust sitting in pawn.

Daddy why’d ya do it?

You missed my birthday again.

It’s just my sweet sixteen, no big deal.

I just want to see you, where’ve you been?

Daddy why’d y’a do it?

You made me think that there was hope.

I heard your voice on Thanksgiving Day.

I’m too fucking fragile to cope.

Daddy why’d ya do it?

You stole my car after 16 years.

I gave you one last chance to love me.

I’m in the company of my greatest fears.

Daddy why’d ya do it?

You hid that diagnosis from me.

You died suffering and alone like I had been;

Just a dead branch on the family tree.

Daddy why’d ya do it?

You made my heart weak and susceptible.

I’ve wasted my life begging for love.

What you’ve done to me is unacceptable.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kathryn Kingsley

I am an alien; I'm sure of it. I'm an enigma, a perfect mess of controlled chaos. I am beauty wrapped in madness. Keep reading for a wild ride inside my fractured mind.

Please share, subscribe, tip and/or pledge to support my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.