Poets logo

Suffocating

I need space

By Kathryn KingsleyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Suffocating
Photo by Christina Victoria Craft on Unsplash

"I can't breathe" I've screamed until I'm blue in the face

Your heavy expectations and my disappointments interlace

Daily I fail

To be worthy of veil

Our happiness disappears without a trace

I give you the answers you aren't prepared to hear

To questions that bring brutal truth and a tear

I give up, you want down

In confusion I drown

To your ever-changing rules I cannot adhere

"Enjoy yourself". He states its time I had earned

I comply though in the end I know I'll be burned

An ego smashing

Wicked tongue lashing

Will bring forth the behavior you taught and I learned

This is my home, a painful void within

I tried but I couldn't thicken my skin

His words they cut

Treating me like a slut

When this is over my ever-after can begin

The abuse I sustain leaves me feeling defeated

This man used to make me feel whole, completed

But now he's chipping away

Leaving only dismay

What have I done to deserve the way I'm treated?

I answer all his calls number one to forty eight

But it doesn't spare me of being the target of his hate

All my time and money

It's not enough, honey

I'm oblivious to our relationship's obvious dismal fate

I cling to this roller coaster of emotional pain and pleasure

In hopes one day I'll earn the love and trust I treasure

Its an eternal sting

A dangling ring

The days of misery I've endured I can't measure

You smother me with the obsession you call love

Its this constant suffocation I'm frankly sick of

Demanding whereabouts

Exposes your doubts

Your assumptions and insecurities nothing stands above

How long will I have to pay for what you are unable to see?

Has it always been this way or is it just me?

I will always fail

Effort to no avail

I simply cannot face that we weren't meant to be

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Kathryn Kingsley

I am an alien; I'm sure of it. I'm an enigma, a perfect mess of controlled chaos. I am beauty wrapped in madness. Keep reading for a wild ride inside my fractured mind.

Please share, subscribe, tip and/or pledge to support my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.