Poets logo

Heartbreak Looks Like...

Breakups Are Never Easy

By Dannielle NelsonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I was ready to go to the ends of the Earth with you.

I held you in my heart.

I loved you more than anyone I have ever known.

You were right.

You were the prize

I always said so

I always wanted you

And I knew why

We built something together that is

Broken now

I can't fix it.

All that's left for me is to do

Rebuild

Alone

While you move on and give all the things I loved about you to

Her

What did you leave me with?

Myself

And I have to see how much that is worth now.

Everyone keeps telling me its a lot.

Love is blind because I can't

See anything but

Your

Face

And I still want you

Even though it hurts so much.

The pain will subside

I'm told

Even though I don't believe that

And time will erase the memories as I make

New ones.

My heart will grow

Even if I don't believe that

Right now

Because tears are all my eyes know

With the loss that is the shape of you

And my biggest fear is that you will realize what we had

And

That you will want me back

And that I will succumb to it

And destroy myself again

Because loving you was all I wanted for me

Even though it killed me to try

Because I wasn't what you wanted

If I were

You would still be here

And we had wedding rings that we threw in the trash.

That was the final break my soul

Felt

In which

I have to say goodbye without looking back

And i am not there yet

Because I still want you

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Dannielle Nelson

I have no taboo subjects. Buckle up & prepare for the journey! From Steampunk, reality, mental health, poetry, & eclectic philosophy. Enjoy.

I have 2 Websites where other works can be read.

Plant People Heal

Read More Live Better

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.