Poets logo

Heartbreak Dreams

Love lost is never sometimes gain.

By Becca MaharPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

You look so peaceful asleep next to me

your breathing in a beautiful pattern

of love and comfort.

My eyes burn from the light

of my computer as I type this confession.

Our days are limited.

I feel the pain in my chest

knowing I must leave you soon.

Thoughts race in my head

while yours is empty and carefree.

How will I do it?

How can I hurt you knowing you’ve given up

so much?

How will either of us deal with the pain of losing

our one and only?

I never imagined this day would come.

I gently take your hands in mine

a worried glint in your eye.

The words pass out of my mouth

like venomous daggers piercing your

heart.

Tears like rain from a thunderstorm

cascade onto the table.

The questions pour like spilled milk.

What have I done wrong?

Why don’t you want me?

Where will I go?

What will I do?

Emptiness consumes my own heart

as I empty yours as well.

Moments like this are not for the weak willed.

The pain of tearing someone apart with a few simple words

should not amuse anyone.

I was never strong enough.

I was never good enough.

I was lost in a fantasy of promises

and encouragement.

The roads have never been paved

in this journey.

The forgiveness I once sought

now lay burned in the stove.

A melody of screams and cries

could never be soothed with empty arguments.

A crash of thunder awakens me with a deafening eruption.

You lay turned towards me,

peaceful, and without any worries.

Another day, my love.

I cannot bear to lose the sight of you like this

tonight.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Becca Mahar

Poetry is my passion. I tend to spill my heart out in my writing, so if you enjoy compelling emotional poems, my page is for you. I'm a neverending abyss of emotions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.