Poets logo

Heart of Fire, Heart of Ice

All the things I wish I could say

By EldritchPublished 3 years ago 1 min read

Eldritch

11/2/21

Heart of Fire, Heart of Ice

Creator, bless my poor heart,

changes sway over it, like a ship in most turbulent water.

Simple words cut like daggers,

breathing into my heart stoking dying embers,

until there is not left but a torrent of flame

Creator, bless my poor heart.

Creator, bless my cantankerous tongue,

Spitting acid at innocents,

Placing blame where it doesn't belong,

Shouting in frustration at shadows on my wall

Searching for revenge that never comes,

Fueling more hate than i know what to do with,

Creator, bless my cantankerous tongue.

Creator, bless my vile soul,

It lingers and lingers on dark moments,

Hiding in the black recesses of my mind,

Hoping for and finding conflict for sustenance,

Turning more vile and black than i can stand,

Creator, bless my vile soul.

Creator, bless my poor heart,

Icy winds blow reducing the flames again to embers,

Frozen fingers grasp around it turning the beating flesh to stone,

Unwilling to talk, unwilling to feel, unwilling to forgive,

Frozen, suspended in fear and hatred, ready to shatter,

Creator, bless my poor heart.

Creator, bless my poor heart,

Wrapped in darkness weak, and afraid,

Longing and shying away from the light,

Longing and shying away from the light,

Light and love so close i could reach out and grab it,

If only i could just reach out and grasp it,

Just to grasp it for a second,

Creator, bless my poor heart.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Eldritch

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    EWritten by Eldritch

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.