Poets logo

Heart of a Foster Mom

My journey from A-Z

By Kayla WilliamsPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
6

About the time I was just 23 and life was still fairly new for me

Because I thought I could change the world this is how my life unfurled

Casting away the doubts of others, ready to help my sisters and brothers

Doing what I knew I could do, I started my trek as if on cue

Entering the door to begin my journey, not knowing my heart would wind up on a gurney

Fostering became the focus of life, loving on children who had only known strife

Gathering them in my arms for a while, abuse, neglect, and hurt filled their file

Housing them, hugging them, snuggling and loving them

I poured my heart fully into this story, with the first little boy, his name was Corey

Just as he left and my heart was so sad, along came another and again I was glad

Kindred spirits were there- a community with others who shared this same opportunity

Love and heartbreak were to go hand in hand, and the moments passed as grains of sand

Many more children were to come and to go, and sometimes my heart was my greatest foe

No words could express or tears could explain the loss that I felt or the hurt I would gain

Open wounds would last, some my whole lifetime, and scars were left on my soul in my prime

People around me never could know how deep was the pain that I wish would not show

Questions have been asked by others you see, who want to start that same journey as me

Right they are in their longing to love, but what they will need is help from above

See, my life has been defined by this choice, I hope I carry this burden with poise

Tonight when I rest my head and I sleep, the knowledge of doing my best I will keep

Until the sun rises again, I’m thankful that God knew to work out this plan

Victory is still there in having lived fully, though maybe it has aged me prematurely

When you grab hold of a life full of meaning, on the side of joy it will be leaning

X is used to mark the spot, and in my soul you may find it a lot

You’ll see it where each child once was and you’ll see it where I fought for a cause

Zeal will get you to the right road and there you will find perfect grace bestowed

 

Family
6

About the Creator

Kayla Williams

I'm a former foster mother and an adoptive mother. My life has been one not wasted. I take strides to incorporate meaning and fun into each day. I love God, my family and friends. I like skeletons and quirky things.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    This was so profound and emotional! It flowed so smoothly as well! Loved your poem!

  • Liam Storm3 months ago

    One of my favourites to read for this challenge! Truly captured me, a heartfelt piece! If you get the chance to check my submission out I would greatly appreciate it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.