Poets logo

The Dark Day

The Light That Follows

By Kayla WilliamsPublished 20 days ago 1 min read
1

Eventually I would come to see that depression

Could not keep me from experiencing joy in

Life, it could only stop the light from shining for a moment but

I would find the light again, shining as bright as it did before and

People would be warmed by the joy that radiates and

Shines, because despair cannot block out the light forever and

Even on the hardest day, you must remember- this too shall pass

Mental Health
1

About the Creator

Kayla Williams

I'm a former foster mother and an adoptive mother. My life has been one not wasted. I take strides to incorporate meaning and fun into each day. I love God, my family and friends. I like skeletons and quirky things.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Nelson20 days ago

    I liked how you compared depression to an eclipse. Great poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.