Poets logo

Healing vs Scarring

A love that makes you wonder

By IzPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
4
Healing vs Scarring
Photo by Gabriel Varaljay on Unsplash

I don’t want a love that will hold my hand loosely

Almost loose enough that it could grab another

I want my hand to be squeezed at every intersection

Just like my heart will be every day

Pumping blood to keep me alive

To keep making memories with you

Storms will come Storms will go

If your shelter is built with twigs and sticks

Of doubt, insecurity and miscommunication

Your house will tumble too like my socks in the drier

Your world upside down from the spinning

Consciously I never seek love

But subconsciously it comes and knocks me off my feet

Parental scars exist in my heart

I desperately look for bandages

In the forms of people

But honey just know, people are never going to be a bandage

They’ll be a paper towel at best

They’ll stop the bleeding for 5 seconds and then dissolve

Back into their environment

Back into their lives

Back into their I

And all that’s left is a soggy paper towel of memories

That you toss in the nearest bin

and never look back on

love poems
4

About the Creator

Iz

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.