Poets logo

He Was My Brother

#mentalhealth

By Clara Elizabeth Hamilton Orr BurnsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
He Was My Brother
Photo by Wes Hicks on Unsplash

He will not be remembered by many

And by fewer still fondly.

When I pass from this world,

He may not be remembered at all.

They plastered him with labels they didn’t yet understand

Or even know how to treat

And left him rotting in the black sludge his ailing health had reduced his mind to.

He saw terror and temptation in the red dots on a television set,

Convinced that some unnamed,

Unholy evil,

That unendingly plagued him,

Could see him through the red, blinking eye of encroaching death.

I was fourteen when he died.

I have carried his death with me ever since.

I was going to tell him but I waited too long.

He was my brother

And we were more alike than I ever had a chance to tell him.

After his funeral,

I burned the letters I had written him.

I watched the smoke leap into the air

And looking through the flames,

I saw him;

Face black in death

And twisted by my own black sludge.

‘Hello brother,’ I sighed.

‘I see demons too.’

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Clara Elizabeth Hamilton Orr Burns

"I was always an unusual girl

My mother told me that I had a chameleon soul

No moral compass pointing due north

No fixed personality...

...With a fire for every experience and an obsession for freedom"

-Lana Del Ray

Ride

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.