Poets logo

He says, She says

Love doesn't have to be scary anymore

By Tim Ellerbe IIPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

He says:

I want to show you love

Real love

Something you’ve never known before

Not felt, for feelings are fleeting

I want you to KNOW love

When you breathe in, that space before exhalation

Is where I will be

Reminding your entire being

What it means to be worshipped

The endless time in that space

You will KNOW love

Don’t exhale yet…stay here with me

Stay…

Can you see all the pain you’ve experienced?

So can I in this space

I’m here with you

Let’s bind up all of those bad memories

And throw them away for good

Breathe out

All that pain is gone for good

Never to return to torment you

Don’t inhale just yet…

Live in this space for as long as you need

Living FREE of all that baggage

You were never meant to carry

Let this space between spaces

Hold you

Are you ready?

Good, let’s continue

Breathe in again…Stay there

In that space….Stay

Can you feel your heart beating?

Can you feel mine?

Synchronize yours to mine in this space

Find my rhythm until it becomes your own

Be one with me

You are safe here in this space

I have you covered with my protection

Yet I need to earn your trust in this space

I have to earn you in this space

I will not hold onto you oppressively

I know when you breathe out

I may lose you for good

If this knowing causes you any fear

Stay…

Stay…

Stay…

Okay, breathe out

What are you aware of in that space?

Absent of the weight of so much baggage

Who are you inside?

In that silence?

Breathe in

Welcome back

Knowing who you are inside

Means you know you are WORTHY of love

Some tried to convince you otherwise

But you know, like you’ve always known

You are worthy of

LOVE

She says:

I have been very reflective of the delightful surprises you prepared for me.

After thinking and reading the poem, I had to meditate.

It brought to me the thought that “it doesn’t have to be scary anymore.”

My soul commanded that I speak the words out loud

and let it be true

“it doesn’t have to be scary anymore.”

I don’t know what that looks like, but I feel like the deep poem

is like a splendid handwritten golden ticket.

I have it in hand and I am standing in the station

I see the train

I am intrigued by the train

I don’t quite know where it is going.

But I have stepped out of the station the train is waiting on the track

I am flattered, curious and a little excited about where this train may go.

So cautiously I approach thinking

“do I want to take the tri,p the journey, am I ready?”

Then I realize I am at the station

and my journey to the station has been a surprisingly pleasant and easy experience

so now I’m pacing beside the beautiful train

a wondrous journey may lie ahead or…

but NO!

I should wait, I should ask questions of the destination

I should prepare

I should know where I’m going… maybe or maybe not.

Maybe this is a journey we take in faith.

So I pace, I look and I decide my heart deserves an adventure

The ticket says the destination is love.

I say to myself “it doesn’t have to be scary anymore”

and get on the train

He says:

I admit trepidation too

I want her to like me for me

should I even be here?

Many may want her heart and I’m aware

I could be lost in a sea of suitors.

How do I stand out?

All I know how to do is care for her more by the day.

It’s overwhelming at times the feelings I feel for her

All I want to do is hold her hand for life

no matter what I must do to achieve that.

Not to say I need to lose myself along the way just to please her

On the contrary I need to relearn who I am

so that I can present to her the real me

not just some representative.

She is the woman I had convinced myself no longer existed.

And here we are at this junction in life

gazing into each other souls and knowing deep inside

that this journey is worth taking as she says, by faith.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Tim Ellerbe II

I am a Musician, Author and Artist. Find out more on my website timellerbe.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.