Poets logo

He makes me feel

A character study about a murderer.

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
10
He makes me feel
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

How can he even look at me?

So close.

So near.

I feel his breath beating down on me.

I feel his pulse racing in my mouth.

His golden hued gray mirrors reflecting such heavy pools, and I sink into them.

****

Why does he make me feel,

I don’t want to feel.

****

I am not here; but you make me feel the present.

Right here and now.

I touch your arm in court,

You let me keep my hand there.

I admitted to murder,

Yet you show me empathy.

My mind is cracked, my heart is burnt

And still, you try to seek out my humanity.

You make me feel like I could have

Something real,

Something sweet,

Something else unlike what I had before.

How can you even look at me, Edward?

I can barely look at myself.

You asked me to write to you,

So I did.

I’m a murderer but here I am,

Trying to stop thinking of you,

And your highly impassioned speech to save me,

When all I want to tell you is no matter what happens now

Even if they kill me, too,

All I

Want

You

To know

Is,

You saved me anyway.

(I could never feel, even as a child I was forced to pretend I had no feelings at all)

But, you,

made me feel,

And that’s more real to me than my whole life.

~~~~~~~

Author note: this is about my characters Edward and John in my yet to be published story The Half Paper Moon. It is in John’s perspective, the one on trial for murder. Edward is his defense lawyer.

love poems
10

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe Patterson2 years ago

    Great job, looking forward to the full story that will follow.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.