Poets logo

He Made Me

A poem about self-esteem

By Preity RandhawaPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
"There's some good boys out there if you look"

I’m looking in the mirror and don’t see anything nice

Can I make myself better, let me roll the dice

Someone once told me that I am very wise

I wish it was enough, but it doesn’t even suffice

All the girls get attention, but not me

I have nice eyes too, can’t anyone see?

The boys want those girls, but no one wants me

I can’t do this anymore, please set me free

I’m not good enough I don’t have long hair

All the other girls are pretty it’s just not fair

If I wasn’t alive, no one would even care

Let me finish this now, do I dare?

But one day I met a boy who told me I’m pretty

Maybe he can see through my clothes and into my soul

He told me I’m not like the other girls I don’t need sparkles and confetti

I’m perfect the way I am, I never need to feel alone

He asked me where my low sense of worth came from

and I couldnt tell him because I didnt know

Maybe it was that noone had asked me out to prom

or maybe it was that my dad was always a no show

After meeting him, I realised I am also enough

He taught me love can be gentle, not just rough

I don’t know if meeting him was luck or always in my fate

Just a slight sadness that he came into my life so late

There’s some good boys out there if you really look

Before I met him I had no sense of self esteem

He gave me this gift; to show me that I’m beautiful & I am also seen.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Preity Randhawa

Deep and passionate... is there any other way to be?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.