Poets logo

He'll Never Call Me Again

How do I accept it?

By Tanner PeifferPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1

My shoes wore out from running

Alone with him in the cold

So I took a breather, shallow panting

And let the rest unfold

My breath like the smoke from his last cigar

Drifting over his blackout shades

Hiding the truth from my radar

In his dizzying masculine daze

But I saw his wounds beneath the gauze

Soaked with the pus of his past mistakes

And he won’t even let me near the infection

Or reveal the depth of his aches

* **

Time has run out for innocence

Run away from me, my friend

I’ve lost the one whose bones I was determined most to mend

And now I fear, that in the end

He’ll never call me again

After all of my devotion

He’ll never even call me again…

***

So I take a seat on my vintage couch

And let out the sigh of my life

Hearing the birds call out for love

And the peacefully swaying chimes

It all feels so lost in the truth of itself

Like reality based on a dream

I don’t know which book to take off the shelf

When they all tell the same old scene

This house is warm but the air is cold

Nostalgia that’s been kept in the freezer

I was never taught how to chop my own wood

But I suppose it’ll only get easier

* **

Time has run out for innocence

Run away from me, my friend

I’ve woken every night to think that we’ve already made amends

Only to remember the nature of men

How he'll probably never call me again

After all of our shared emotion

He’ll never even call me again…

***

I can’t believe this is what it’s come to

There must be a leak in my brain

In the shower I try to scrape off the soreness

But it won’t go down the drain

I don’t know what he wants from me

Or if he even wants me alive

The numbness stings beyond belief

But I’ve got to put myself in drive

His silhouette will only fade

Unless he chooses to return

So I’ll be the one for whom I pray

And let my love obsession burn

***

Time has run out for innocence

Run away from me, my friend

There’s no amount of healing light to him I wouldn’t lend

And though I fear, that in the end

He’ll never call me again

I won’t be ruled by decisive dread-

He may never call me again…

I wish him the best, but I know

He may never call me again…

And though he may never call me again

He needs to understand

No matter where either of us may roam

He can always call me again…

heartbreaklove poems
1

About the Creator

Tanner Peiffer

I'm an aspiring poet, writing from both personal experiences and surreal concepts, with the goal of inspiring anyone who may read. I hope my art can strike a chord and shift a perspective or two. 20 years old.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.