Poets logo

Hawkins Cheezies and Milk

For an afternoon snack

By Cathy holmesPublished about a month ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
41

Crunchy as the January snow.

Salty, like the ocean’s summer breeze.

Cheezy, as a favourite uncle’s jokes.

Messy, like my mud-puddled knees.

*

Fresh, as wind-dried cotton sheets.

Smooth, as gulls soaring through the air.

Cold, like swimming in the sea.

Silky, like a favourite teddy bear.

*

Crumbly, like sands on a rocky beach.

Crispy as stacks of autumn leaves.

Savory, as the scent of Christmas treats.

Sharp, like icicles hanging from the eaves.

*

Sweet like an unexpected meet.

Rich, like warm chocolate in a mug.

Cozy as my bunny-slippered feet.

Welcome, as a satisfying hug.

*

Reminders of a favourite snack

In a red and white-lettered plastic sack

What comes to mind, not just the taste

But the fondest memories of the place.

Gratitudeperformance poetry
41

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (34)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen20 days ago

    Seriously weird Canadian snacks. I know Cheese-it, but not Cheezies. When I get to Canada, I will certainly remember to try your snacks. Congrats .

  • Anna 26 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Mariann Carroll28 days ago

    One of your snack poem better win 🏆I Enjoyed them

  • Your poem catches the spirit of this famous Canadian food with rich images and nostalgia; it's a visual feast!

  • Ameer Bibiabout a month ago

    Congratulations on top story a very interesting sort of poem

  • Gerard DiLeoabout a month ago

    Cheezy, as a favourite uncle’s jokes. Wonderful!

  • Tiffany Gordon about a month ago

    Nicely done!!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • JBazabout a month ago

    Congratulations on top story

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a month ago

    Congrats on your TS, Cathy. A fun and clever read.

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a month ago

    This had a rainbow 🌈 of sensory bliss woven here! I'll eat my Sunday hat if you don't win 🏆

  • Alexander McEvoyabout a month ago

    Oh! Cathy! That's evil! I simply ADORE Hawkins Cheezies!!!! They're made in Belleville Ontario! They are one of the snacks we always bring to our American friends! NOw you've gone and tempted me to go out and buy a great big bag for a movie marathon!

  • Caroline Janeabout a month ago

    I so want these now! Never heard of them before 😆 but I want a large bag of what they are a part of! Fab poem. ❤️

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a month ago

    Cathy!!!!! What are you doing to me?!?!?! These are an all time favourite!!! My parents were always too cheap to buy them, but my grandma always had a secret stash she would share with me!!! OMG, I love this and the way you presented it sooooooo much!!! They way you added sensory and imagery to it, just makes me mad I don't have any in the house!!! 💚 This line: "Savory, as the scent of Christmas treats." reminded me of how list year everyone got my husband these for Christmas and we literally just finished the last bag the other day!! Like he got 2 costco sized bags and then a couple others! It was a lot of these gloriously crunchy treats!! Amazing work and congrats on top story!! You're my front runner for this challenge!!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a month ago

    perfection!!

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Fun snack!!! Yes, cheezies!!! I think they are like Fritio's Cheetoes!!! Wonderfully written, my friend!!!💕❤️❤️

  • L.C. Schäferabout a month ago

    I got comfort from just feeding my eyes with this 😁

  • Great way to share a favourite

  • Colleen Millsteed about a month ago

    Boy, you have some great treats over your way. You’ve got my taste buds going my friend.

  • Leslie Writesabout a month ago

    Love the nostalgia in this piece! 🇨🇦 🧀 snack

  • Dana Crandellabout a month ago

    A tribute to one of my own favorites, in the US version, Cheetos, of course! I was going to mention tomato soup, Randy was quicker. Great poem, Cathy!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a month ago

    Great poem Cathy! I’ve never had these but now I want to try them!

  • Celia in Underlandabout a month ago

    Oooo they sound like Wotsits - love them! Great fun poem like the starting adjectives for each line and the nostalgia of the last llne is lovely. 🤍

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    I was today years old when I learnt that those things are called eaves, lol. The only kinda eaves that I've known is the dropping kind 🤣🤣🤣 Loved your poem!

  • Your version of Cheetos! Melt in the mouth. Great in tomato soup.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.