Poets logo

Haunting Your World

Or mine

By Amy ChristiePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

A ghost of what we used to have

wafts in the morning air

I see a home, tea cups, and paws,

playing and laughter,

hide-and-seek

with leaves.

I search for your face,

here, there,

it glows,

but can't get near.

Past mirror

brings the echo

of what we lived,

can't rain again

in waterfall of downcast dreams.

***

If that time was the one,

if home was ours

and the threshold

didn't let harm come in,

hail end all hope,

and loss

linger in corners in a wail,

why did we lose the path

are we running

to different crossings?

***

Can we choose one more time

one wish,

one bridge

make your road,

mine.

Resentful, sour storms

arrived to clutch our joy

memories come down

in a flood

conscience knows of no other song,

in heart, in spirit,

in the dawn,

voices dwell and ring true

closer to home,

closer to you,

awake

or chasing specters.

***

I only wish to have

that sunlit afternoon

of unforgotten love.

Beloved and undone

tossed in a cave,

up on a cliff,

hiding

and wishing

to be found

there is no peace in chasing

chasm.

***

Can I stay here, wait

will you still find me if I stop,

how will you know me

one more time

if I don't look the same

if voice is gone

an hour, or lifetime ago?

I took jasmine for guide

and lost

looking for ivy left me in the rain

are you my shelter

or the night,

avenger

or my peace?

***

© 2022 Amy Christie

Photo credit: Pexels

Originally published on Simily

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Amy Christie

Passionate writer and journalist, striving to create meaningful connections.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.