Poets logo

Haunted

A Poem

By Author Eve S EvansPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

The halls cast shadows,

Somehow the house becomes alive,

Not breathing mind you,

But it buzzes like a hive.

I’m laying in bed,

The sheets pulled up to my chin,

I shiver in dread,

Let the haunting begin.

A creak from the bathroom,

A drawer opens by itself,

Something else clatters,

Falling off a shelf.

I take in a sharp breath,

Hold it in until it burns,

Something walks into the room unseen,

I frightfully try to discern.

A shadow plagues against the wall,

It glides til it’s at the side of my bed,

I tremble and try not to scream,

It’s floated right next to my head.

Out of the corner of my eye

I watch it, I dare it to attack,

I watch as my radio moves by itself,

Until it falls to the floor with a smack.

The shadow lingers as if challenging me,

I close my eyes and beg for it go,

I wish I could afford to leave this place,

But I can’t, I know.

I wait a good ten minutes,

Then I squint one eye open to peek,

I think the shadow is gone,

Until from the kids’ room comes a shriek.

I bolt out of bed and run

As fast as I can,

The girls are huddled on the bottom bunk,

Shivering, wrapped in an Afghan.

I scan the room, but see nothing,

I go to them and tell them it will be okay,

But I have to wonder,

Do I even believe what I say?

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Author Eve S Evans

After residing in two haunted houses in her lifetime, Eve Evans is enthralled with the world of paranormal. She writes ghost stories based on true events and fictional thriller & horror novels.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Author Eve S Evans is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.