Poets logo

Harmony

All good things together makes the best memories.

By Jasmine S.Published 3 years ago 1 min read
4

Sun, sand and sea, this is what home means to me, open skies, a pure breeze, nothing can compare in my memory.

Seagulls calling, gliding, swooping, seemingly hovering overhead, pinpointing their next meal, more often than not waiting in anticipation to be fed.

White sandy beaches or as is the case on one island, if I dig deep enough coral pink sand, that I can bottle and preserve for all time, watching my footprints wash away with the incoming tide.

Blue-green or aquamarine, the colors of my Bahamian sea, crystal clear, diamond like fragments on the ocean floor, with schools of fish cutting through the water.

Or the fisherman vessel out in the distance, fishing net and traps in tow, maybe catching; grouper, gray, red snapper or conch and lobster, whichever it might be, once prepared right, is always a delight.

Salt, lemon and my seasonings of choice, deep fried lobster with tartar dipping sauce, can't forget conch salad mixed to perfection, flavors tap dancing across my taste buds that ends with a party in my tummy.

Humidity too thick, oppressive, sun scorching hot, sunglasses to see but would I change it for anything?

All these things work together to create harmony in my world, home for me is my island and family.

love poems
4

About the Creator

Jasmine S.

Born: The Bahamas, Grand Bahama

Trying my hand at short stories, I always liked to read but never thought I could write stories. It's never too late to start. I appreciate any reads or comments.

Thank you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.