Poets logo

Hard Tuesdays

soft wednesday

By AnaRosa CruzPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2

I have been the bigger person for thirty six full years...

Always the first to crawl back, apologize, and take the blame

But I cannot be bigger than your anger any longer.

I cannot come crawling back, belly full of knives from our last call

I cannot I have bled my last drop for your love and approval,

and I am tired of dying every day for you to keep trying to kill me

This time, I won't come back, and I will choose to live

This time, I choose me, and mine, and let you fall away

Like the dead leaves of fall.

I am making way for blossoms.

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

AnaRosa Cruz

creative writer, martial artist, obfuscation, goblin, rock hound. New to poetry, but having fun just letting my brain spill onto the page.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.