Poets logo

Oh My Dear

a letter to faith

By AnaRosa CruzPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

Dear Deity,

(Or whoever you are)

Was it always supposed to be like this? Was this the grand design that I was destined to be a part of? If so, man, I might need a refund. I guess I should have read the fine print before signing my life away, come what may.

I guess that I expected this to feel like one of your many stories. You say"YES" and suddenly, there is abundance. Everything works out better than you could have hoped, and the story of redemption would be added to the pantheon of other heroes in your fold. I was to be a star in your sky, shining brightly for all to see your wild and amazing changes.

And yet, here I am, hands full of broken dreams, shattered hearts, and ash. I stand here with almost all of my hopes deferred, and none of those dreams coming true. So where did I go wrong? I would love some insight. I guess that would be the only thing I ask of you at this point. I've prayed the prayers, recited the lines, and believed the promise. So can I get a hint of whatheactualfuckisgoingonhere?!

but all I can count on from you is radio silence.

So I will keep my ashy, bleeding hands folded, and keep waiting for that ever-elusive voice of yours to remind me of why we all started this in the first place. It certainly can't get any worse, can it?

Ever Faithfully Yours,

Broken.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

AnaRosa Cruz

creative writer, martial artist, obfuscation, goblin, rock hound. New to poetry, but having fun just letting my brain spill onto the page.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.