Poets logo

Hard Times

I remain strong in Hard Times...even when I am not

By Sean HolmesPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
It’s been rough...but keep pushing

These some Hard times, like a clock stuck in concrete

A royal purple flower bloomed in the streets

Fed by gunpowered rain and bloody showers

These sons don't get to shine

So many Short stories that never made it to the book, buried in pine and 6 feet of dirt... covered by a much deeper hurt

I Get that text like “yo, CUZ Just got murked, and his daughter was there and she got hurt, and we don't know if she gonna make it and I can't take it and I'm about to go berserk”

And the next day I just have to go to work

And what? Go and get a shirt and hope that hope and prayer works?

It’s a struggle to stay afloat on a hatred filled boat with holes and the saddened stench of my ancestors souls

But on I row

Life ain't just a dream at times it can be a nightmarish scene

And through the dark times you can see

my soul shine, it gleams

And it's never diminished

I swear I will succeed before I am finished

Just like anything in time, hard times are getting old and I revel in its senescence

See I've been a youth and watched this society snatch my innocence...to be honest I am grateful in a sense

Hopefully I can combat this Cognitive Dissonance

When I put my two cents into the streets

I'll invest into the kids and they'll listen to me

Hard times will be expressed and theirs will not be repressed because the young and the old suffer from similar stress...and in these hard times I sense the cries for distress ...so to the youth I spit the truth, naked and undressed...because the young and the old suffer from similar stress

So on the clock I go back to...take my hurt and my emotions on my back too...keeping on the grind..burdens hold some down and I am carrying mine

I have a few more seconds before I escape my hard times…..

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Sean Holmes

I am writing to manifest

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.