Poets logo

I Am...

I am what I’ve inherited, and what I choose to be

By Sean HolmesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
A piece of me, in so many words

I am many things in one entity; Wanna know me. Read slowly. A mix of Martin and Malcolm, with the X more so in control of me.

I am my ancestors; when i hear Trap beats it brings out the African in me and I start crip walkin all ritualistically.

Spiritually..I’m a giant...when it comes to my business, I’m a tyrant.

I am a father, and thus ima killer because if any harm comes to my seeds I’m liable to kill ya.

I am a son, and I don't have my mom nor pops to blame but....

I’m untamed and born and raised in the wild where you are liable to be maimed.

But I am a survivor and remained unscathed, yet still affected. I was a part of this raging machine and a product of my environment, but I am defective.

The most high made me with a bright mind. So that every time I shine, I enlighten a friend and cause an enemy to go blind. No eye for an eye, because I am taking them both.

I am “Skipper” out this b****, so I’m the captain of the boat. I am Fueled off hope and doing whatever I have to do, in order to keep my family afloat.

I’m a provider. I’m a father; one who will do anything for his son and daughters.

I am a man...flawed in all the ways you can think of...a man who has been to the brink of...walking off the edge...but instead, I am accepting my duties like a king...the crown sits heavy on my head

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sean Holmes

I am writing to manifest

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.