Poets logo

HAPPY VALLEY

Haiku

By Babs IversonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
17
HAPPY VALLEY
Photo by craig hellier on Unsplash

Hike Mount Nittany

Unimposing natures beauty

Missed Fall foliage.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

This is the last of my Haiku poems.

It's a tribute to the mountain that was close to my parent's former homes. On a clear day, if you hike up Mount Nittany, there are views of the Penn State University campus (Happy Valley). For football fans, Mount Nittany is located East of Beaver Stadium.

nature poetry
17

About the Creator

Babs Iverson

Barbara J Iversen, also known as Babs Iverson, lives in Texas and loves her grandkids to the moon and back. After writing one story, she found that writing has many benefits especially during a pandemic and a Texas-size Arctic Blast.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Lovely!

  • Thayrileabout a year ago

    Nice 😍

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Great, I love how you explain your Haikus.

  • Amy Writesabout a year ago

    This was such a pretty haiku! I loved it.

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    Aw I love mountains with sentimental value! I remembered a poem entitled "I know Rivers". I always think "I know Mountains" there always seems to be one close to love!

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Beautiful...

  • As The Leaves Do Fall Find Your Way To The High Peak Such Perfect Words Babs

  • Julie Buchyabout a year ago

    No one does words like you, Babs! ❤️

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Dr. Constance Quigleyabout a year ago

    I love it and its relation to the current season! Good luck!

  • Dawn Saloisabout a year ago

    Lovely, nostalgic haiku!

  • Loves your poem and the backstory!

  • Colt Hendersonabout a year ago

    Took me somewhere else. I appreciate you for sharing.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Beautiful, my friend.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Love it!! This is my neck of the woods (well, not too far from it). Thanks for sharing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.