Poets logo

Happiness is short-lived, while pain is eternal

To Silvia

By Bettye LutzPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
3
Happiness is short-lived, while pain is eternal
Photo by Luís Alvoeiro Quaresma on Unsplash

Silvia, do you ever remember

The time when you were on earth.

When you were so delicate and beautiful

Your smiling eyes were full of autumn waves.

Sometimes you were sad, sometimes you were happy

You were on the journey of youth?

The silent room and the surrounding streets

You sang your endless songs.

At that time you sat and concentrated on your maidenhood

You were confident of a bright future.

It was the fragrant month of May.

You always loved to spend your time like this.

Sometimes I left behind my pleasant studies

And the stained books

(on which I had spent

childhood and some of the best years of my life).

from the balcony of my father's house.

listening to the sound of your voice.

Watching your hands on the weary loom

and the rapidity of your hands on the tired loom.

I was looking up at the clear sky.

I looked up at the golden streets and gardens.

From here I looked at the distant sea.

And from there I looked up at the high peaks of the mountains.

No words can express

What kind of feelings swept through my heart.

My Silvia!

What tenderness I feel.

What good hopes, what a pure heart!

But life and fate.

How mercilessly we were treated at that time!

When I think of these many things that I have longed for.

I feel troubled, depressed, and

I cried out for my unhappy fate.

Ah, nature, ah, nature.

Why do you not afterwards

Why can't you deliver all that you promised at that time?

Why do you so

You cheat your own children?

Before the winter of the withered grass has fallen

You contracted a dark disease and

And groaned under the power of sickness.

My beloved, you have left the earth at last.

You saw no more of your youth.

Any sweet praise

(Sometimes praising your dark hair.

sometimes complimenting your shy and charming eyes), cannot soothe your heart.

can not soothe your heart.

And your friends, too, cannot

to confide in you on holidays.

My sweet hopes, too

Soon also became a bubble.

For my years.

Fate also denied my youth.

Alas, my youthful companion.

My wretched hope.

How did you fade away without a trace!

Is this life!

Is this what we often talk about

Of joy, work, encounter and love?

Is this the fate of mankind?

You, unfortunate one.

At the very dawn of the light of truth

you lost your life.

In the distance, where your hand points

is a cold death and a bare grave.

love poemssad poetrysurreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Bettye Lutz

Ascent must be inferior, self-esteem is too high can not achieve success, and therefore successful people must cultivate a calm mind, and focus on everything, which is the key to success. I like vocal music

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Egland Lewton2 years ago

    Great!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.