Poets logo

Hallowed Ground

A Poem

By Kevin KlabonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Hallowed Ground
Photo by Ilja Nedilko on Unsplash

One day the ash will come down and settle on the hallowed ground.

And the worms that writhe below will make it their home.

If there is a heaven, if there is an abode, it doesn't exist in this reality.

The dead walk amongst the living; the living are no better than the dead.

People say that the sky is blue; I say it is somber and gray.

I see the worst in the best, and the worst I see so clear.

A smile is written on the faces of the wretched; this I fear.

Know more happiness, no more mirthful place that I know no more.

Sifting through the ashes of another fire that forever burns.

Like sheep, we have always followed a despot and without concern.

When will the heathens and all that is meek finally learn?

I say up until the very day the skies are aflame, and the ashes descend.

On that day, Mother Earth will grin; she is rid of our terrible sins.

A planet that has cried since the dawn of man will finally be in peace,

As she revels in her Hallowed Ground!

nature poetry
2

About the Creator

Kevin Klabon

I am an artist, a musician, an author, a poet, a magician of the written word.

I live no life without pen and paper, or a paintbrush in hand.

If you could share your love for what I love, I would love you to the moon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.