Poets logo

Half-Life

Unexpected Discoveries

By Bex JordanPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2023
40
Flash (Photo: @UmaSabirah)

They built a device to detect dark matter

And instead they observed the decay

Of Xenon-124, an event previously

Unrecorded. They say

The element has a half-life

Of thousands of millennia

But deep underground

They found evidence of

Electrons and X-rays

That spoke of the signs of a

Break-down that takes so long

It boggles the mind.

****

And I wonder if I still exist

If no one is around to witness

A once-in-a-millennium moment

When I actually feel at peace

With myself, and the world

A sense of perfect clarity.

It’s taken half my life to realize

I wasn’t created to please others,

And I don't need to ensure

That everyone is happy.

I wish I’d known sooner,

But I suppose sometimes

We have to break down

In order to see.

****

Reference Article:

nature poetryinspirational
40

About the Creator

Bex Jordan

She/They. Writer. Gardener. Cat-Lover. Nerd. Always looking up at the sky or down at the ground.

Profile photo by Román Anaya.

Instagram: @UmaSabirah

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (22)

Sign in to comment
  • Samara Simsonabout a year ago

    Loved your scientific take on poetry and life. Such a broad vision.

  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    I tried to tag you in a post, but it seems I’m inept. I guess I should have asked your permission first before using your name in a shout-out. I think you’ll enjoy reading my story, “To Whom It May Concern.” 🙂

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Amazing! "Break down in order to see" got me.

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    This is so deserving of Top Story. I loved how you took the mindboggling and fasicnating science stuff and drew it back into something more intimate and personal. Well done! Your use of words is always outstanding!

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    A life lesson beautifully composed and shared. Thank you and congrats on it being properly recognized. 🥰

  • Chua Yuan Hengabout a year ago

    Dark matter is anti-gravity!

  • Congratulations on Top Story ❤️💯👍

  • Nice work❗❗❗❗🙏💯❤️👍

  • Stéphane Dreyfusabout a year ago

    Some people never learn this kind of lesson. Thank you for expressing it!

  • Christopher Michaelabout a year ago

    What an awesome discovery, hadn’t heard of this. Nuclear is wild. Thanks for sharing

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    'We have to break down in order to see.' A very compelling line. Good work! ;)

  • Leva Affabout a year ago

    super

  • P.A. Wilkinsonabout a year ago

    I love this. Great division into 2 parts.. the end brings it all together 🤌

  • J. R. Loweabout a year ago

    Woahhhh this is GOOD. I love the double meaning of “half-life”. So well done 👏

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Love your concept and comparison. Brilliant

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Wonderfully stated. Well done and congrats on the Top Story

  • Gina B.about a year ago

    Love the duality of the half life concept.

  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    Excellent! I love getting to know you through your writing. :)

  • This was so uplifting and magical! I read an article today which stated the Earth's core briefly paused rotating and then started rotating in the opposite direction. Also, yes you're right, we aren't created to please other and it's okay to not make sure everyone is always happy. I too wish I knew that sooner. Loved your poem! I've hearted and subscribed! 💖

  • Aphoticabout a year ago

    Very enthralling. I love that you included the article at the end. You relate deep scientific concepts to human emotion so beautifully as well!

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    I watch a lot of this on YouTube. Scary stuff.

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    I like dark galaxies, I live in one all the time. Great stuff here! Hearted

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.