Poets logo

Half-formed Faces in the Ether

For the Love of Music

By C. Rommial ButlerPublished 17 days ago 1 min read
3
Norman Rockwell, "The Love Song"

Buried in shit, we’re bound to get shitty.

Can’t eat the cake and keep it all pretty!

So much of life is needless strife

When we refuse to choose the nitty-gritty.

<>

“Hot town, summer in the city”?

<>

Toil all day to keep up with the times

Then waste the night on petty crimes.

Running in place, what a disgrace!

The treadmill is still but never climbs!

<>

“Trade in your hours for a handful of dimes”?

<>

Grass tickles my toes as I sit on the lawn.

My so(u)l grows as moonbeams spawn.

No one knows why there’s pie in the sky

But the best I can do is not be a pawn.

<>

“And I said, hey-ey-ey, hey-ey-ey. I said hey…”

***** * *****

Rommentary:

This is a meditation on songs I loved from the time of my youth, which I will append below in order of the quotes above. A special mention goes out to Marvin Gaye, who's timeless message resonates as well.

love poems
3

About the Creator

C. Rommial Butler

C. Rommial Butler is a writer, musician and philosopher from Indianapolis, IN. His works can be found online through multiple streaming services and booksellers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming12 days ago

    Rommentary! Genius! Made me laugh! Ah, the simple life.

  • I sang this to my own tune hehehehe. These were my favourite lines: "Grass tickles my toes as I sit on the lawn. My so(u)l grows as moonbeams spawn."

  • Belle17 days ago

    What a unique work!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.