Poets logo

Half a Sonnet

'In Eclipse' Challenge - No. 1

By Kendall Defoe Published 3 months ago 1 min read
Half a Sonnet
Photo by Nick Odnari on Unsplash

Note: I thought about how it was mentioned that with this particular challenge, we had only seven lines, meaning - to me - half of the sonnet form. Not that I obeyed the rules for any sonnet, but I did wonder about what to say with the poem (obeying a rule for only half of it seemed wrong).

- K.D.

*

Everyone has their own ideas on how to do this:

Confusion, declaration, emotion...

Love can be such a rich source to use and burn through.

I thought of how I had half of the form to play with on the page.

Poetry, even semiformed, raw, and in open disobedience works.

Something missing; some form unfulfilled; some part to declare, and yet...

Everything has been said in this small, still world.

Indeed...

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

social commentaryRequest Feedbackperformance poetrylove poemsFree VerseFirst Draftfact or fictionAcrostic

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Adriana Bazan3 months ago

    Well-thought-out piece. "Poetry, even semi-formed, raw, and in open disobedience, works." Love that line! 😃

  • Oooo, this certainly was deep! Loved your Acrostic!

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    I love this quote...the trick is to start, all else will follow. Cool half a sonnet.

  • JBaz3 months ago

    There has to be something new, doesn't there?

  • There is indeed nothing new under the sun, my friend. And that includes that which comes between the sun & us.

Kendall Defoe Written by Kendall Defoe

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.