Poets logo

Hair tie

A Poem of Remembrance

By Miriam BeckwithPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

You left your hair tie in my car’s cupholder

Now I wear it around my wrist

Purple, stretchy

My fingers fidget

With the feeling of February last

Bodies entwined under the quilt

Your hair a golden mess upon the pillow

Curls rebelling against restraints…

We were untouched by the cold outside

But still untouched by the change of spring.

Coconut conditioner scent

And one stray gold hair

Bracelet of remembrance

My personal Rosary

I hold it like an O

Portal to a past

Where your patient words

And strong arms

Defied any kind of end.

Your hair never could be contained

You could never be contained

I watched you go. My calm, my comfort…

You left your hair tie in my car’s cupholder.

heartbreaksad poetrylove poems
Like

About the Creator

Miriam Beckwith

My stories tend to circle around the magical, haunting, wimsical, and weird. My first published novel, a middle grade low fantasy story, Tsula Man, is available on Amazon.com and Barnes&Noble.com.

Instagram: miriambeckwithauthor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.