Poets logo

Hail Fellow, Have A Marshmallow?

A Subtle Look at an Insane Taunt

By Kendall Defoe Published 12 months ago 2 min read
Hail Fellow, Have A Marshmallow?
Photo by Josh Campbell on Unsplash

Hello and welcome back!

Now, this is not one of those pieces I had planned on writing (I did have other pieces that were much more interesting and...sensible to finish), but you know what they say about how you make g*d laugh... You tell him your plans...

Plans... Yes...

My plan was to finish a review and then take the rest of the day off after teaching online. But such is the lot of a Vocalist that your words will often provoke people to make a misguided effort to grab your attention.

Donna Renee, in keep with her strange tastes in food, has challenged my challenge against her beloved beets (''Zombie Dumps''? how appetizing). I felt that this was very odd, considering she even stole my joke (Dr. Dre much?) and needed all 26 letters of the alphabet to respond to me with something called an ''Abecedarian rebuttal''(I'm...touched?).

Well, I have limited my response to one challenging poem and one not so difficult one (a villanelle - no ''Killing Eve'' reference here - and a haiku)...and maybe something else?

Anyway, enjoy...and eat right.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Beet Poetry

Some people worship the ugly beet.

Sense-deprived, they enjoy the taste bud's foe...

Others despise that awful...'treat'.

*

There are many who try to eat

what lies on their plate (they would prefer tallow).

Some people worship the ugly beet.

*

Wiser ones shift in their seat,

feeling their senses burn...without a drop of aloe.

Others despise that awful 'treat'.

*

It can be quite a feat,

getting up without being an asshole...

Some people worship the ugly beet.

*

Until...you realize this is a cheat;

More of a tongue polka, not a mouthful of JLO.

Others despise that awful treat.

*

And my Donna...and dear Paul (I won't admit defeat;

Try to camp out without that soft and white...well, you know)...

Some people worship the ugly beet.

Others despise that awful treat.

*

Well, that was fun...and I'm not done (hey, is that a poem?).

Anyway, one more haiku...

__________________________________________________

Camping Out

Marshmallows and smores...

...and beets? Over a fire?

Who wins, huh? Really?

By Leon Contreras on Unsplash

I understand that there are many of you out there with different tastes (both right and wrong), but you must understand that if you do hate marshmallows, you are dumping on one of the great traditions of North American life. Perhaps you would be happier in a country that has no marshmallows on sticks, in your hot chocolate, between graham crackers, or anywhere where freedom reigns...

Is that what you want...COMRADE?

With deepest respect,

KD

No Comment

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

slam poetrysocial commentarysad poetryinspirationalhumorheartbreakfact or fiction

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    Is this still going on for real, can I jump back in. So much to do and see. I can't keep up omg. Fun is passing me by.

  • Lol, I enjoyed this so much! These food wars do not seem to be ending soon 🤣

  • Neither win. Both are great!

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Well done!!! Loved it@!!♥️♥️💕

  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    Yay! You tell her. Get her told! All that. This was great, by the way.

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    🥰😂🤣😆

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    Ouchhhhhh 🤣🤣. You did not hold back! I admit I’m intrigued by the idea of roasting beets over a fire on a marshmallow stick 🤣

Kendall Defoe Written by Kendall Defoe

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.