Poets logo

H.O.M.E

Coming of age

By Elina SanchezPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
H.O.M.E
Photo by Bryan P.M on Unsplash

Home.

A four-letter word that puts me in a paralyzing state.

A place I know all too well.

A place I have come to hate.

I have spent lots of time trying to understand and feel for a man who would come into my room when he would swell.

In the beginning, I would cry or plead that he wouldn’t make me drop to my knees and make me his playmate.

But towards the end, my mind would go blank.

Blank

Blank

Blank

At the age of 7, I knew what a -job was

At the age of 8, I just wanted to play with toys

At the age of 9, I was still being used for his lustful ways

By 11 His weight was added to me. His sweat dripped on me. His lips pressed hard against me. I cried out-

“Help me don’t let him do this to me,” I screamed to my sister who was 5 innocent years old. Expecting her to comprehend what he has done in our HOME.

He responded-

“Don’t worry she’s acting, this is only a game.”

Game. A four-letter word that puts me in a paralyzing state.

A thing I know all too well.

A thing I have come to hate.

Coming of age

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Elina Sanchez

Just trying to juggle my career, school, and attempt to have a social life.

Writing is something I've always had a passion for but I rarely find time.

Now I am making time for my passions.

Instagram: @elina.sanch

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.