Poets logo

guilt

for Gaza

By BellePublished 7 months ago 1 min read
1

to have a full stomach

to eat a full meal

to drink a full bottle

to have a hospital

and a school

a vehicle

mobility

education

medicine

health

the amount of guilt I have

for having basic human rights

when they have nothing

to go to bed believing

that I will be able to hug my parents

and get to tell them I love them

a thousand more times

to wake up in the morning

knowing I have a full day planned

rather than wondering

if it will be my last

I get to have something

when I did not do anything to deserve it

they do not get to have anything

when I am no more worthy than them

how can one life get so much

and another get so little

who gets to decide why

they do not deserve anything

who gets to label them terrorists

when they are just children

with sore bellies

praying for help

desperately

while the whole world

is silent

CONTENT WARNINGsocial commentarysad poetryheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Belle

I host unofficial challenges and enjoy writing microfiction and poetry.

My current open challenges can be found here.

Over 30k Palestinians have been murdered, 25k orphaned, 70k+ injured. Free Gaza.

ALL EYES ON RAFAH.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    Omggg just the other day I was telling this same thing to my friend because I felt so guilty for all these things. You put my thoughts to words!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.