Poets logo

Grumpa

A poem about grumpy grandpa

By Daniel HooksPublished 8 months ago 1 min read

Sitting in your old arm chair

with a devil may care attitude.

Talking about the ingratitude of youth,

watching TV,

eating microwaveable meals.

Grumpa I still love you!

I remember the times when I was young

when we played football in the park

and you helped me when I was stung

by wasp

or fell over.

Life is hard

it makes you grumpy

and lonely,

please think of the things you’ve shown me

rather than talking about the things that make you despair,

I know behind the passive aggression you still care.

I know I sometimes take the mick

but really Grumpa I can see all your tricks

there is still to my surprise

magic behind those eyes.

Bedtime stories being read;

Grumpa don’t lose the thread

We all need a grandfather like you

for you have all the experience you will know what to do.

By Daniel Hooks

AKA Alienpoet

www.alienpoet.com

artperformance poetry

About the Creator

Daniel Hooks

A poet, activist and story teller who currently battles with a severe mental health problem.

Facebook Alienpoet

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Missed this one! I actually heard of this grumpa phrase a few days ago! Excellent tribute, warm, comedic and lively. Well done Daniel! I forget if I’ve asked you but do you share your pieces in the Facebook vocal groups? There are many. Helps get bit more exposure etc. Anyhow have a good day!

Daniel HooksWritten by Daniel Hooks

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.