Poets logo

GREY SKIES

Why do I try?

By Dianna HoilandPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
GREY SKIES
Photo by NeONBRAND on Unsplash

The skies turn grey

Its been one hell of a day

Far from home

My mind cannot help but roam

Feeling stuck

Why is this always my luck?

Cannot begin to explain what's wrong

Been like this for to long

Always a struggle

How I wish I had someone to snuggle

Alone

Can't even get someone on the phone

To lighten my load

As I start to corrode

Holding back tears

Cannot escape my fears

Darkness creeps in

Where do I begin?

I feel broken

To many troubles, left unspoken

To many burdens

Disguised by hotel curtains

I'm hurting

My mind, evil is courting

Damaged

What's the advantage?

A step behind

A mess in my mind

Tattered pieces of my soul

I do not feel whole

Lost

No choice but to continue at all costs

Sometimes I wish for a simpler existence

But I get no assistance

Darkness, my home

I am stuck in its dome

Crushing me under its weight

Struggling to keep my head on straight

Hard to breath

Keep grinding my teeth

One problem, 2 problems, 3, and 4

I cannot take much more

My sanity, up for debate

Not feeling very great

Failure, isn't an option

Must be as strong as an oxen

But I am filled with cracks

My life, way off its tracks

Not where I want to be

Only one I can count on is me

Consumed with doubt

Wish I could just chill out

Burdens piled on my shoulders

I feel myself getting colder

The light, so hard to see

I wish to flee

Past, present, and future

My mind in need of a suture

The grey skies loom, in the back of my mind

Growing stronger, I cannot hide

Obstacles, meant to make me fumble

Hoping I will stumble

And fall

Tell me how can I handle it all?

Have I made a mistake?

Was this always my fate?

Forces against me unyielding

Some much damage they are dealing

Irate

Filled with hate

Anguish

The demons I wish to vanquish

One problem solved

New ones evolved

Collapse into the sheets

Stomach empty, because I could not eat

Restless from my stress

Against the pillow I press,

Bury my face to hide my wet cheeks

What is with these bad luck streaks

Mistakes made in a different life?

Could that be the cause of my strife?

Maybe I was never meant to succeed

Regardless of all my good deeds

Maybe my life is nothing but a lesson

A test from the heavens

Do I have the strength

To go the length?

When will it end?

I just want to mend

Sleep daunting

My dreams haunting

Life gives me no relief

Just so much grief

Feeling extra dark tonight

Ready for a fight

A bottle calling my name

But I must not spark that flame

I dance with the devil in the moonlight

Every night

But tonight he has almost won

I hope he had his fun

My eyes burn

As I toss and turn

Lack of sleep

Leaves me feeling weak

Lacking peace

I wish everything would cease

Silence for a moment

So I can size up my opponent

Depression

So much to question

Eyelids heavy from fatigue

Can't make it in the big leagues

With no one on m team

I want to scream

My confidence a façade

I can be quite a complicated broad

Decisions swirl around in my head

Make it impossible to go to bed

Inner turmoil

Curled up like a coil

Mentally searching

How to stop the hurting

For now I will close my eyes

As time flies

Try to drift into the abyss

Even if I do feel amiss

Tomorrow's a new day

Lets hope its a little less grey

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Dianna Hoiland

My name is Dianna Robertson but I publish in my maiden name Hoiland. I am a 29 year old mother of 4 beautiful kids. 2 girls and 2 boys. Currently studying communications.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.