Poets logo

Grey Fragment

Apparition

By James W McDonaldPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Grey Fragment
Photo by Ashkan Forouzani on Unsplash

I remember visiting your place, you lived across the road from a good friend I would frequent. I was sitting on your chest of draws as those who were with me left no other vacancy. We did not stay long, not that it bothered me that much as I did not know you outside of that in passing.

The next evening, while walking the grounds with a couple of my friends, I was confronted by the manager of the caravan park... he urged me to return the wallet that I had apparently stole from you. One of my friends jumped to reply emphasising the absurdity of the accusation, I in turn acknowledged their sentiment.

Words upon words were exchanged, the last of such, I being labled a dog. A few days had since past, I concluded that that was that... then I found out that it was one of my mate's partner that had taken your wallet, a few hours before I had arrived where I sat upon the chest of draws where your wallet was kept.

As I have always been a shy, laid back, mellow character, I never confronted anyone over such, I simply remained within myself. Around three days later, I was sitting at home, like many in the park were, I heard an explosion... it was not until later that I found out that it was you that had blown yourself and your caravan up.

I vaguely recall, but it was perhaps a week that had past since your going out with a bang, I was staying at my mates place this night, the one that lived across from where you once set. I was laying on the lounge in prep for sleep.

With my eyes closed, I could see what I thought was but an imprint of the ceiling light prior to turning it off, I then noticed this imprint move as it appeared to approach me and slightly tap me on the cheek, of which I also felt... this gave rise to my attention.

I opened my eys in perplexity... what the hell was that! A little shaken by this occurence, I proceeded to the want of sleep... with my eyes ever so slightly ajar, this was the moment when you presented yourself, the tap of my cheek but a wake-up call, a knock on the door.

In the slit of my eye, peripherally right, I seen you standing there, grey in colour, a black outline, arms crossed, a smirk upon your face, peering at me... I seen this but not distinctly until you began to glide toward me, my eyes opened full peak, my heart and breath stood still in the moment... I did not sleep this night.

I had chewed on this event for a few days and came to realise that this was your way of coming back to let me know that you knew it was not me that stole your wallet... I found comfort in this gest of thought.

excerpts

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    JWMWritten by James W McDonald

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.