Poets logo

Greed

When enough is never enough

By Joe PattersonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read

Consumption for me has never been tough. No matter how much I eat, nothing’s ever enough.

I’m the bottomless pit you should never feed. My heart forever bleeds from my appetite called forever greed.

I’m hurt a little bit and I’ll be mad more. No matter how much I get, I have to have more.

I have a soul of lust that may outlive me. I’ll never be grateful for everything you give me.

I’m always wanting more with a devilish grin. My ways are listed as one of the deadliest sins.

All I see is the future. A time when I have everything that won’t mean much to me in the future.

I have a million, but I want a million and one. I’m not happy with the world if you don’t give me the sun.

I want it all, not just a taste. No matter what I catch, there’s always something else to chase.

I’m always focused on what I think I don’t have, but there will always be something that I won’t have.

Maybe I need to repent. I’m struggling to look inside myself to learn how to be content.

I hope I don’t pass this curse on to my seed. I don’t wish for anyone to be consumed by greed.

social commentary

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Joe PattersonWritten by Joe Patterson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.