Poets logo

GRATITUDE

The Joy of Gratitude

By Teresa Leyva Published 9 months ago 1 min read
Like
GRATITUDE
Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

Oh, Gratitude, thou sacred boon!

Thy presence cheers the darkest hour,

And gilds the darkest scenes of life,

With light that never fades or dies.

When sickness clouds the brow of health,

When sorrow darkens o'er the mind,

Thy gentle voice can soothe and heal,

And banish grief and care behind.

When friends desert thee in thy grief,

When foes assail thee with their spite,

Thy love can still their cruel power,

And make thee feel secure and right.

When life's dark shadows gather around,

And death's cold hand is drawing nigh,

Thy presence will not leave thee, but

Will cheer thee to the gates of the sky.

Then, Gratitude, thou sacred boon,

I'll cherish thee till life is o'er,

And when I reach the realms of bliss,

I'll praise thee evermore.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Teresa Leyva

I am a storyteller, writer, advisor, and adventurer. I love to use my words to connect with people, inspire them, and help them see the world in a new way.I love to travel, to try new things, and to push myself outside of my comfort zone.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.