Poets logo

Grasping

What stands before me

By Katie Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Grasping
Photo by dylan nolte on Unsplash

It hurts, this wanting.

It is there, waiting for me to grasp it.

But nothing is free.

There is always a price to pay.

And a high price it is. To be paid with one currency only.

This currency doesn’t come from a pocket, it comes from the heart.

To be paid in pain. Doled out, without regard. Punching, cutting, pain.

There is no higher price to pay.

So who am I to let this currency loose to do it’s harm?

Better I should hold this currency close, letting it dig at my heart.

Wrapping my arms around this want, tightly, weeping for my lose.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Katie

Really just an amateur trying my hand at this.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.