Poets logo

Grapefruit

Love and Mortality

By Anna MichellePublished 8 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
8

Perfect weather reeks of nostalgia;

72 degrees and reminiscence.

On days like these

I think about being a kid,

And the line between missing my family

And longing to be part of yours

Is a blur.

You feel the way

Grapefruit covered in sugar

Tastes,

And like all the other things from my childhood

So bittersweet that they hurt.

I will never admit to you

That I am a little girl

Playing make-believe

In a twenty-something-year-old body.

Or that I keep you around to replay

What happened when I was five.

It’s better if I never confess that

You make me feel like a child

In all the good ways,

And all the bad ways.

It’s better if I never speak of my parents,

Or why I am who I am,

Or how you remind me of my mortality

And I wish we had more days left to get it right.

I’m afraid of the last time

That we won’t know is the last time

And having to search for you in perfect weather.

In faded memories

I wonder if you will still feel the way

Grapefruit covered in sugar

Tastes,

And like all of the apologies I never got

And probably never will.

heartbreak
8

About the Creator

Anna Michelle

Hopeful romantic. Love poem enthusiast.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Sid K.4 months ago

    Lovely! Love the contrast you create with imagery and internal conflict.

  • Raquel Dykes8 months ago

    I am in awe of the emotional ride I went on during this, yet I’ll get on it again and again. A poem has never resonated with me so much. I am thankful for this read. I keep mumbling the lines as if they are mine and, and I’m tasting grapefruit all at the same time. “Snap snap snap snap, and snaps” to you Anna, I can’t wait to read more from you. Never stop writing!

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    The grapefruit looks fantastic! Your poem… surreal! Great work!

  • Belle8 months ago

    Beautiful... I can taste the grapefruit, the longing to escape adulthood, in that phase where you have big dreams but you have doubt, and you just want to curl back into the safety of being a kid, even though not everything in childhood was great... Very lovely.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.