Poets logo

Granted Tranquility

A poem by Lena. Form created along the way.

By Lena FolkertPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
16
From Pixabay

*****

Yesterday,

I was suffocating.

Pulled under,

buried beneath the weight

of impossibility.

Everywhere I turned,

there was only

toxicity.

Until I was left begging

for just a taste

of accountability.

But today,

I find my breath.

Floating atop

these never-ending waves

of possibility.

For the first time in so long,

I can see with

clarity.

Staring out at a horizon,

vast and so full

of opportunity.

Finally, I see the truth–

there is strength

in humility.

And tomorrow,

I will not fear.

At long last,

I have been granted

tranquility.

Author's Note: This poem was written the first night after having breathed in the sea air for the first time in FAR too long– feeling the sand between my toes, tasting the salt on my lips, and squishing the kelp between my fingers (and saving trapped sea turtles ❤). For the first time in such a long, long time, life feels possible again.

*****

© Lena Borondia 2022, All Rights Reserved

Also published on Medium.

. . .

❤ Buy My Fur Babies a Treat by Donating HERE!

 https://ko-fi.com/lenaborondia

🖤🖤🖤

*** If you would like to join Vocal+ and receive more returns on each story and be able to enter more challenges, please click HERE and use my referral link, which will help me earn a little more toward treats for my fur babies.

Author's Note: Thank you for honoring me with a read. If you've enjoyed what you've read, please click on the 🖤 and explore my other work. All reads, likes, tips, and pledges feed my writer's soul and give me the fuel to keep sitting down at my computer to bleed out words.

Xx - Lena

**********

nature poetry
16

About the Creator

Lena Folkert

Alaskan Grown Freelance Writer 🤍 Lover of Prose

Former Deckhand & Barista 🤍 Always a Pleaser & Eggshell-Walker

Lifelong Animal Lover & Whisperer 🤍 Ever the Student & Seeker

Traveler 🤍 Dreamer 🤍 Wanderer

Happily Lost 🤍 Luckily in Love

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • J. S. Wade2 years ago

    Comforting. Glad you got figuratively and literally. Have a friend who took an aquarium and filled it with touches from the beach as a remembrance. Beautiful poem, Lena 🥰

  • Here with you and for you Lena, as always beautiful words

  • I feel that I need more tranquility. Thanks for sharing this poem, it is so relatable.

  • John Eva2 years ago

    There's something so huge about being by the water and drowning in that giant-ness that I can totally relate to. (Not literal drowning ofc)- Great poem!

  • Linda Rivenbark2 years ago

    There is healing in being near the ocean...maybe because it is so unchangeable and powerful. I'm glad you found comfort in getting back in contact with the ocean! Beautiful poem!!!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Bravo!

  • Talia Devora2 years ago

    Beautifully penned! So glad times are better for you

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    There is just something about the ocean, seeing it, smelling the salt, hearing the soothing sound of the waves, and the feel of the sand like a warm cushion. You brought all of those things to this poem along with your beautiful self. Great work :)

  • I love this! I’m fortunate to live near the ocean, looking out to the horizon always feels full of hope and possibilities. Beautifully written!

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    That was so beautiful and calming, great job!

  • Ashley Shiflett2 years ago

    This is so beautiful! I love it.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Been way to long since I've seen the ocean as well. This is incredible. Well done.

  • Gerald Holmes2 years ago

    This so beautiful and makes me long for the ocean again. It's been four years since I felt that salty breeze. Loved it.

  • Yes!!

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Beautiful poem . Tranquility, I hope it wins

  • The Dani Writer2 years ago

    This poem is ALL! What a profound reflection of journey. Hit me right in the feels...

  • Ahhhh! This poem was so deep and absolutely gorgeous like the hidden treasure chest found in a shipwreck. That feeling of breathing in the salty sea sir, sand between toes, wind in hair and especially saving sea turtles spells out bliss. We struggle to keep our head above water and we rise by helping others along the way. Loved your poem so much! 💖

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.