Poets logo

Grandmother

Nanny

By Brittany OdomPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Grandmother
Photo by Luana Azevedo on Unsplash

A grandmother isn’t just the mother of your mother, she is your best friend.

She is the glue to your family, and where your success stemmed.

She cooks the best home dinners, and taught us to bless bread.

And she may not be the strongest physically, but her heart is protein fed.

Nanny is her name.

But to me, a mother is what she became.

Looking back all I see is a mother with many problems, and a dad with no true love in his heart, and then a little girl who was broken apart…

But I can look up and still see nanny with open arms!

She taught me my letters and helped me count stars,

And put bandaids over all my old scars.

She is a woman with true love!

This I’ve seen with my own eyes!

When the stroke made pops wanna give up,

She wouldn’t let him and knew again he would arise!

Courage, love, and commitment is what we all need and she holds all of the supplies.

So Batman might be YOUR superhero…

But NANNY is mine!

If you could look far, far away in time you will see an older me giving her the bandaid this time.

I’ll never forget, and I could never repay,

And my gratitude is up for display,

But the amount of love for you is more then even this poem can display.

With all love, Brittany.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Brittany Odom

I just write how I feel, and let the pen talk for me. I can’t express my feelings verbally, so I write poetry. If I wanted any outcome from writing, it would be that one of my stories might help someone with their issues.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.