Poets logo

Grandma's Legacy

Her Wisdom Made Me Grow

By Margaret BrennanPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read

GRANDMA’S LEGACY

Her Wisdom Made Me Grow

Her eyes were tired and weary,

And bones creaked as she walked.

Her voice was weak and fragile

Every time she talked.

*

I often recall years ago.

When I was just a girl,

One hundred strokes were counted

As she brushed my every curl.

*

I wish that she had written down

The stories that she told.

Nanny would have been a millionaire

From the books she could have sold.

*

When “Once Upon a Time” began,

I’d sit on Nanny’s knee.

As she spoke her many volumes,

I’d listen eagerly.

*

We’d often share a cup of tea

And homemade English bread.

When she recited poetry,

I heard every word she said.

*

I wish I could remember

All the stories and her rhymes.

Her memory had failed her –

As all things do with time.

*

So now, I write my poetry

Because the seeds she’d sown,

I’ll leave my legacy behind

For grandchildren of my own.

inspirational

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 77-year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran11 months ago

    This was just so wonderful! Beautiful poem!

  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    Dear Fellow 'Boomer' this was just so graceful. And, a reminder why I write "For The Kids Someday" These are special memories to archive - with all of the digital interactions going on now - it's just fun to archive the 'Favorites' of old. I know it's your 'Happy Place' Dinner time - But, during the commercial please view "Pink Slip" - you many Relate & Giggle? Jay

  • CleverWordz11 months ago

    A very inspirational poem whom you've cherished for many years with a story of hope. Your grandma will continue to live on through your words as the memories paint itself a remarkable tribute!!

Margaret BrennanWritten by Margaret Brennan

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.