Poets logo

Grades Are All In And I Am All Done Teaching That Class

It is time to celebrate! It is the end of another Fall semester! I will not do that again!

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2
Grades Are All In And I Am All Done Teaching That Class
Photo by Seema Miah on Unsplash

There were only six students this semester. Five students finished the class. Four earned an A, and one student got a B. This class is a requirement to graduate. A 4-credit semester course. It is listed as a diversity class. It is not the only diversity class offered.

The class is limited to 10 students, and I have had 10 students registered. Not all students made it all the way through. This last semester was the smallest class since I started.

I was told, some teachers would like 6 students when I asked about that.

I have taught full classes of college students. An average of 30 students per class. I am finishing up teaching an independent study class, that I taught for 4 semesters and spoke directly to 2 students. The independent study was more difficult for me to teach because of that.

Most of my students in the class came from the counseling program. Others came from all the different degree programs on campus. They did not have to see me. They could communicate through text or email. They had the option of virtual, but most decided against it.

I had not taken an independent study class, even though I am at the ABD (All but dissertation) level of student. And I had never taught one before this. I enjoy people and face-to-face teaching, so I found the class difficult to teach. It was an adventure for me.

So, what I will never do again is an independent study class. Well, I might if they paid better. I was teaching as a community faculty. And with a limited number of students. And that meant less pay. Not that I am about the money, mind you.

I am retired and thankfully do not depend on my part-time work to pay the bills. I do like to be comfortable though.

Independent Study — A Rhyme

If you were in my class it meant, reading the resource material.

The history was all true and real.

A book “Everything You Wanted to Know About Indians, But Were Afraid To Ask”, and a story

About counseling Native Americans, videos about real medicine men today, and videos about history.

There were stories I love to tell, some from my youth

and others that taught a lesson, moral, or value and truth.

Discussions happened about certain topics and stories.

A quiz and a final on the outcome measures, with glossaries

to help the student to have a chance to get 100 percent.

The class was an overview. We learned together but didn’t make a dent

in all there is to learn. I told the students how important

it is to be lifelong learners. It is unimportant

to learn counseling skills without learning about differences, as they do lurk

and it is good to do their own trauma, grief, and loss work.

It isn’t just a quirk

that the people we get in mental health and substance abuse

are not there just because they had a little too much use!

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Sounds like an awesome class! You made me nostalgic 4 my college years. Thx so much 4 sharing! Are there any books on your list that you can recommend? I'm especially interested in the counseling, grief & trauma material. I loved this piece & your poem! BRAVO! 👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Awesome🥰🥰🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.