Poets logo

Goodbye

I'm moving on

By Lenora VincentPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I've finally found the perfect way

to heal my aching soul.

I'm writing this poem to say

goodbye to feeling un-whole.

This is a letter to my past

experiences good and bad,

and all those who left too fast

to see what they could've had.

To the boys who sought to win my heart,

but decided I wasn't worth the fight.

Dear Romeo you failed your part,

but you still search for mrs. right.

I hope one day you find

the girl who fits your list.

I hope she can change your mind,

‘Cause love isn't about this.

To my love stories and fairytales

the daydreams of youth:

I've found a different trail

and discovered a new truth.

I've learned that love isn't what it seems

looking past the rosy haze,

for real love is better than a dream

when it's staring you in the face.

To the one who hurt me

with nothing but your tongue

you left scars no one could see

when I was still so young,

There's such deep pain and fear

that I must still wade through,

but I find more strength each year

to move on and forgive you.

To the experiences that have shaped me

like a river running through stone

Over time I can finally see

how strong I've truly grown.

I thought I'd never reach the top,

but it was worth the view.

As long as I didn't stop,

I knew I could make it through.

To the chances I was afraid to take

and the people I could have met,

If I hadn't been afraid of mistakes

or choices I might regret.

I've lived my life in fear

of taking a wrong turn,

but as I look back from here,

I see missed opportunities to learn.

One final note to those

who have turned away from me.

Their hearts are cold and closed

and they refuse to see.

One last goodbye just for you

to say I'm finally good.

I hope one day you will be too,

because I know you could.

It's just a step along the road

that leads to true healing.

The rest requires sharing my load

while I am humbly kneeling.

This is my thank you,

my "Goodbye, I'm moving on!"

The memories stay, it's true

but the pain is finally gone.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Lenora Vincent

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.