Poets logo

Goodbye

Poem of pain

By Peggy Sue Danielle RushPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Goodbye
Photo by Kat J on Unsplash

I am planning on leaving now because I hate myself.

I don't ever feel good anymore and I can not change my health.

My husband use to to need me but now he has some wealth.

So his need for me has been placed back upon a shelf.

I should have known when he first cheated it wasn't meant to be

but he convinced me otherwise, He said he needed me.

For years now I have heard the complaints about me and our sex life,

also seen him compliment other girls, except me, his wife!

I can not hide this pain I feel when I am here with him

I have only stayed so long because I'm afraid to hurt them.

Our kids , they need their father and I just feel so bad

Listening to them always ask " Hey Mom where is Dad?"

If he left they all would blame me for why their dad is not here,

even if I shared my pain they would not understand or care.

They will miss me some and remember the fun we had,

but they won't miss me near as much, as they would miss their dad.

I know people will miss me and some people do care,

But I can not seem to shake this negative demon in my ear.

I hurt and I'm sad all the time, so it may be best if I'm not there.

I have so many people that would listen to my pain,

I just fear I am preventing their personal gain.

I don't want to bring anyone down

so it seems better if I am not around.

I usually seem fine but when I'm alone I always cry

It is time for me to go, this is goodbye.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.