Poets logo

Chronic Pain

Feelings

By Peggy Sue Danielle RushPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Chronic Pain
Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

I guess I have been doing alright, I have been sleeping a little at night.

I don’t want to be a pain and complain

that's when people start to go insane

Thinking it could change things, but it won't.

It's up to me, I got make the change that’s why were free,

But I can't seem to clear the fog that’s stopping me

There's no future that’s bright enough for me to see.

Where am I supposed to go? What am I supposed to be?

I worry all day what tomorrow may have in store

I no longer feel comfortable and secure

Thoughts race through my mind, Even when everyone else is at rest

I think about how I'm at my worst, When the reality is I am at my best.

I keep asking God if all this is a test.

I know I'm going to fail but I keep riding that rail.

I can't give up that's not who I am

I have to keep going but, damn!

I'm not sure how to stay strong

I've been down and in pain for so, so long.

I look for hope and inspiration everywhere I turn

But dealing with all this, there’s so much I need to learn.

I got to keep moving forward in order to survive,

I got to keep finding reasons I want to stay alive.

The worst part is the struggle is with me.

I'm fighting an opponent I can't see.

I never know what the next move will be.

They beat me down till I can't feel no more

Most the time I struggle to get up off the floor.

The pain becomes way too much,

I cannot stand just the slightest touch.

“please just hold me, no stop there's too much pain!”

“I can't do it today I got a headache again!”

I spend a lot of time feeling like I have let everyone down

And wondering why I'm even still around.

I do know that I can't just go

The reason why is what I don’t know.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.