Poets logo

Good Secrets and Innocent Lies

Parting is such sweet sorrow

By Emily DickersonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Good Secrets and Innocent Lies
Photo by Maksym Tymchyk on Unsplash

That sweet smile lied

He kissed me like we’d been married for years

Just a peck on the lips

So nonchalant - “it’s only a little time

I’ll come again as soon as I can” -

But he, too quickly, left me

That sweet smile lied

He was worrying about the people in that car

Rumbling, parked in its spot

He went to his, I went to mine

And he took the exit on the right side

That sweet smile lied

Parting is such sweet sorrow, they say

But there was nothing sweet about leaving him behind

I couldn’t look him in the eyes

I will always be waiting for tomorrow because

That sweet smile lied

He told me the truth seven hours later

He, too, died inside

He told me the truth thirty one hours later

Tears welled up in his eyes

I weep to this day inside and outside

That sweet smile lied

Better he should have cried.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Emily Dickerson

Hopeful and young, full of love. From my heart high praises are sung. For this reason I am here: to love and serve and bring all souls near. <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.