Poets logo

Good Girl

A Poem

By Genesis GonzalezPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I wear your scent draped over me

Cloaking me

I’m safe

You bring it back to me and push your lips against my knuckles

Firmly grasping for the world to make sense

Red lipstick where I devoured your heart for being so alarmed

The things you left behind,

Obligations

Priorities

One day I will understand

“One day you will have to start living for someone else.” You confidently say

Brushing the hair away from my face, exposing my eyes

My hand cupped in your chin

Awarding my obedience

Sit, Lay, Stay

I’m yours

I wear your mark up and down my legs

My skin vulnerable to the cinders of burning rumors falling from the sky.

Who knows from where. In my mind I guess?

Keenly aware of the lines being written for me,

Stories told of me to the tourist in your life.

I was the treasure island for lost men.

You gave them the map and key to my display

Holding me underwater just long enough to know I would need you to release me

If I ever wanted to breathe again.

My soul was old when we met.

“How are you so naive?” You wonder now.

Enlightening me that love isn’t real, scolding me for using a four letter word.

You know love is real.

But you don’t know love.

What you know as love is an imposter named fear.

“You never put your toys away,”

She would call after you

“Probably why they are all broken”

I wear your scent

Like a hound tracking your hiding spaces

Mingling with imposters to throw me off the trail.

Success is just greed

Jealousy and rage seethe through your veins

You lust over the life I am living for you.

You occupy the doorway saying goodbye.

You kiss my forehead as a reward

I sit, I lay, I stay.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Genesis Gonzalez

I know a lot about a lot of things, but I'm never one to claim to be an expert. Aspiring writer currently a butcher.

la_femmebouchere on instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.